Sub Groups

Priority Areas

At its first meeting on 28 June 2017, the Programme Implementation Board agreed to establish four working sub groups reflecting the four priority areas for actions. Chairs have been selected and each sub group meets monthly. Each group has been assigned the relevant actions from the Mulvey Report. The sub groups have representation from the community and business sector.

As of December 2019, there are six workstreams of the Programme Implementation Board. More details can be found below:

  1. Enhancing Policing: Reduce crime in the community; Alleviate gangland threat in the community; Build community confidence in the Gardai; and Refurbish and reopen Fitzgibbon Street Garda Station. [Chaired by Chief Superintendent Patrick McMenamin, An Garda Síochána]
  2. Maximising Educational, Training and Employment Opportunities: Address blocks for progression of young people in formal education and increase and enhance employment opportunities for school leavers; Improve adult education levels; and Reduce unemployment rates in the community. [Chaired by Mary Keenan, Department of the Taoiseach]
  3. Family Wellbeing: Improve family wellbeing with a focus on parenting; and Improve youth wellbeing. [Chaired by Joy McGlynn, Tusla]
  4. Enhancing Community Wellbeing and the Physical Landscape: Improve social cohesion and wellbeing in the community; and Enhance the physical environment, landscape and cleanliness. [Chaired by Karl Mitchell, Dublin City Council]
  5. Substance Use, Misuse and Inclusion Health: Improve health outcomes for people who use and misuse drugs and alcohol; and Promote inclusion health for socially excluded groups experiencing severe health inequalities. [Chaired by Jim Walsh, Department of Health.]
  6. Alignment of Services: Integrate and align delivery of services across government departments, community services, agencies and institutions; Adapt and implement City Connects model; Enhance community leadership; and Enhance early years and after-schools services. [Chaired by John Cole, Department of Children, Equality, Disability, Integration and Youth].


Current membership of the NEIC Sub Groups is as follows (February 2019) [To be updated.]

SUB GROUP 1 - Enhancing Policing

Chair – Chief Superintendent Patrick McMenamin, An Garda Síochána

  • Charles Armstrong, An Garda Síochána
  • Richard Carson, ACET/ North Inner City Community Coalition (NICCC)
  • Paul Costello, An Garda Síochána
  • Ciara Cunningham, SWAN Youth Service
  • Mel MacGiobúin, North Inner City Drugs and Alcohol Taskforce
  • Sgt Martin Moloney, An Garda Síochána
  • Paddy Murdiff, North Inner City Community Coalition (NICCC)
  • Michael O'Riordan, NEIC Programme Office
  • Brian Quinn, An Garda Síochána
  • Anita Whyte, Health Service Executive
  • Pat Smith, Dublin City Council

SUB GROUP 2 - Maximising Educational, Training and Employment Opportunities

Chair – Mary Keenan, Department of the  Taoiseach

  • Andrew Torrance, Department of Education
  • Deirdre Gartland, Central Model Senior School / Principals' Network
  • Noel Hand, Department of Social Protection
  • Blake Hodkinson, City of Dublin Education and Training Board
  • Sarah Kelleher, Lourdes Youth and Community Services/ NICCC
  • Henrietta Kerrigan, Inner City Renewal Group LES
  • David Leavey, Department of the Taoiseach / NEIC Programme Office
  • Germaine Noonan, Business in the Community
  • Michael O'Riordan, NEIC Programme Office
  • Gina Quin, National College of Ireland
  • Maria Tyrrell, Larkin Unemployed Centre/ NICCC
  • Stacey Cannon, Department of Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science
  • Liam Newell, O’Connell Secondary School / Principals' Network

SUB GROUP 3 - Family Wellbeing

Chair – Joy McGlynn, TUSLA

  • Josephine Bleach, Early learning Initiative, National College of Ireland
  • Shane Caprani, TUSLA
  • Ann Carroll, Community After School Programme/ NICCC
  • Pat Gates, Young People At Risk/NICCC
  • David Leavey, Department of the Taoiseach / NEIC Programme Office
  • Teresa Nyland, TUSLA
  • Michael O'Riordan, NEIC Programme Office
  • Sorcha Ryan, HSE
  • Jo-Anne Sexton, Health Service Executive
  • Mark Shinnick, Holy Child Pre-School (Rutland Street Project)
  • Eileen Smith, Hill Street Family Resource Centre
  • Elonora Sozzi, St Helenas Family Resource Centre
  • Olan Devine, Child & Adolescent Mental Health Service HSE

SUB GROUP 4 - Enhancing Community Wellbeing and the Physical Environment

Chair – Karl Mitchell, Dublin City Council

  • Ursula Donnellan, Dublin City Council
  • Josephine Henry, Dublin City Community Co-op
  • Derek Kelly, Dublin City Council / Dublin Docklands
  • Brendan Kenny, Dublin City Council
  • Michael O'Riordan, NEIC Programme Office
  • Sean Reilly, Business sector
  • Bernie Walsh, Sunflower Recycling

SUB GROUP 5 - Substance use, misuse and inclusion health

Chair - Jim Walsh, Department of Health 

  • Gary Broderick, SAOL Project
  • Des Crowley, HSE
  • Bridie Flood, Crinan Youth Project
  • Paula Kearney, SAOL Project
  • Belinda Nugent, SAOL Project
  • Michael O’Riordan, NEIC Programme Office
  • Fiona Wheeler, Department of Health
  • Anita Whyte, Health Service Executive
  • Including two Service Users          
  • Sinéad Carson, Drugs Policy & Social Inclusion Unit
  • Passerose Mantay, Chrysalis Community Drug Project                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  

SUB GROUP 6 - Alignment of Services

Chair - John Cole, Department of Children, Equality, Disability, Integration and Youth

  • John Farrelly, CDETB
  • Michelle Forde, HSE
  • Patrick Gates, YPAR
  • Mark Harding, CDYSB
  • David Leavey, Department of the Taoiseach / NEIC Programme Office
  • Mairead Mahon, SWAN Youth Service
  • Cliodhna Mahony, TUSLA
  • Niamh Murray, Rutland National School
  • John Peelo, PPFS TUSLA
  • Kate Levey, Department of Children, Equality, Disability, Integration and Youth
  • Deirdre McCarthy, Dublin City Coop
  • Andrew Torrance, NEIC Education Initiative Manager